Can't see new data in databases in SQL Server

Jump to solution
05-24-2021 11:35 AM
LLCCG
by
New Contributor III

Please bear with me, I'm new to both my job and ArcGIS Enterprise.

I have a feature class with some polygons on it. When I right click on the layer in ArcGIS Pro, and select Properties, that window says the Data Source is an Enterprise Geodatabase Feature Class. It gives the server location, the instance (XYZ_Database), the Name (XYZ_Database.DBO.MyLayer), and some other data.

If I open Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio, I can go to Databases>XYZ_Database>Tables>DBO.MyLayer, right click and "Select Top 1000 Rows" and I can see some data. In it, the OBJECTIDs are nicely sequential and ordered. However, I only have 45 rows, but if I open the attribute table in ArcGIS Pro, that layer has 97 rows (in which the OBJECTID is sequential and ordered up to 45, but seemingly random after that).

If I add a new polygon in that layer, it appears in ArcGIS Pro both on the map and in the attribute table. I can view it on the web map that is tied to the same database. I cannot, however, see it in SQL Server.

On the other hand, if I go back to MS SQL Server Management Studio, and I open "Views" instead of "Tables", there is a dbo.MyLayer_evw which has all 97 rows.

If I look at the query that is creating the View, it references some other tables like dbo.SDE_states, dbo.SDE_state_lineages, and some tables that have alphanumeric names in the format of DBO.a123 and DBO.d123. The SDE_states and SDE_state_lineages look like they might be created by ArcGIS, but I don't know what any of them do.

Can anybody shed a bit of light on this for me? Or at least point me in the right direction?

0Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ReeseFacendini
Esri Contributor